Saturday, February 14, 2009

Sonic Youth pop the major label pimple

Following their departure from major label Geffen, Sonic Youth's 18th album is due out on indie imprint Matador in June. The label says, in part:

"We've not had a record in our recent history that's been the subject of nearly as much speculation and anticipation. Suffice to say we're pretty amazed at the way the band delivered something this neoteric while still sounding like, well, themselves. Less of a reinvention and perhaps more to do with a particularly awesome dozen songs."

Sheesh. You're not the only one who had to look up "neoteric".

Here's the track listing:

1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming The Snake
7. Poison Arrow
8. Malibu Gas Station
9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10. No Way
11. Walkin Blue
12. Massage The History

Note the usual selection of rabbit-down-a-hole titles and in-jokes. So we know they didn't leave their sense of humour at the exit when leaving Geffen.

Here's the cover:

It's called "The Eternal" so any enlightenment on why it looks like an ad for Clearasil can be left in the Comments section.

No comments: