Monday, June 09, 2008

Stooges Got a Right

Interesting news. The re-born Stooges have taken it upon themselves to play songs from their Raw Power era. Informed comment from reliable sources was that those songs were verboten, on account of the Asheton brothers (Ron, to be precise) having been excluded from the songwriting process in 1972 when James Williamson was sole guitarist.

So, peruse this set list from a recent gig (7 June) in Belgium:

01. Loose
02. 1969
03. I Wanna Be Your Dog
04. TV Eye
05. Dirt
06. Real Cool Time
07. No Fun
08. Band Intros
09. 1970
10. Funhouse
11. Skull Ring
12. My Idea Of Fun
13. Search And Destroy
14. I Got a Right
15. Little Electric Chair

And only one song from the missed opportunity that was the "comeback" album "The Weirdness". Now THAT is no surprise around these parts.

1 comment:

The Stash Dauber said...

not hard to fig

after four years, i'm sure even RON was ready for some new material

and better williamson than madonna